Exam Requirements

Candidates seeking certification must meet the eligibility criteria specified below:

Requirements for NPCTA Patient Care Technician Certification Exam

Certification will be awarded when all of the criteria are met and Successful performance on the (NPCTA) Patient Care Technician Certification Examination. The successful candidate will receive the CPCT certification and in addition a Phlebotomy and EKG certification card

Work Experience Requirements:

Certification requires at least one year of full-time experience for NPCTA Patient Care Technician Certification
Experience may be substituted in lieu of a NPCTA Certification and will be evaluated by the NPCTA on an individual basis as criteria for meeting the exam eligibility requirements. This professional experience must be within the four-year period preceding the date of NPCTA’s receipt of the application for certification, and must include verification of length of employment and job description from the relevant employer(s) A representative of the Eligibility Committee may contact an applicant if additional information or clarification of submitted information is required.
NPCTA Policy states that an applicant must hold a current CPR certification (AHA BLS for Healthcare Providers), be credentialed as a currently valid, full, and unrestricted State Certified/Licensed Nurses Assistant (CNA) 1 year of work experience, including twenty five (25) successful venipuncture’s, ten (10) successful Skin Punctures and ten (10) successful EKG Test Strips in a hospital setting.
Education Requirements for NPCTA Patient Care Technician Certification Exam:

Patient care technician training is available at community and technical institutions. Students can typically complete certificate programs in less than one year. You can ask your program officials if their PCT approved is approved. If not, have them call NPCTA to submit the appropriate documentation to NPCTA for consideration.

Education:  Certification requires a diploma/certificate of completion or equivalent from an accredited institution of higher education
The Applicant must have graduated an accredited/approved entry-level training program, which the curriculum included classroom, laboratory exercises and supervised clinical hours, which may come in the form of internships or externships. The student must have completed the following learning modules in the program:

  • Certified nursing assistant (CNA)
  • Medical Terminology
  • Basic Anatomy and Physiology
  • Electrocardiography (EKG) (10) successful EKG Test Strips
  • Long Term Care
  • Fundamentals of Disease
  • Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) AHA BLS for Healthcare Providers 
  • Principles of Expanded Patient Care
  • Advanced nursing skills
  • Patient Care Clerical Principles
  • Phlebotomy including twenty five (25) successful venipuncture’s, ten (10) successful Skin Punctures
  • Multi-Skilled Clinical Practicum       

The Certified Patient Care Technicians (CPCT’s), also referred to as nursing assistants, PCA’s, geriatric aides, unlicensed assistive personnel, or hospital attendants, perform routine tasks under the supervision/ direction of doctors, nursing and medical staff such as a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse to assist in the care of medical, surgical, geriatric, pediatric and maternity patients. (CPCT’s), work in long term care facilities, rehabilitation centers, home health care agencies and in almost every department in the hospital helping patients.

Direct Patient/Client Care
Their duties include taking vital signs, collecting specimens, performing catheterization and assisting patients with eating, personal hygiene and grooming. They also take notes and make assessments on their care. A Certified Patient Care Technician (CPCT) also adopts the skills of phlebotomy technician; EKG technician and patient care skills.
Certification By Reciprocity
If you have been certified through another certifying agency, you may be able to gain NPCTA certification by means of reciprocity. You will not have to sit for the exam if you have taken a previous exam within 2 years. To start this process, register for the exam and select “reciprocity” as your fulfillment of requirements to take the exam.